Alabama is ready for Saturday’s NCAA Cross Country Championship races in Stillwater

STILLWATER, Okla. – The men and women from Alabama will brave the cold of Stillwater, Oklahoma as they compete for the NCAA Cross Country Championships at The Greiner Family OSU Cross Country Course on Saturday.

The #5 Crimson Tide Women’s, led by Mercy Chelangatwho won UA’s first NCAA Cross Country singles title on the same course two years ago, and Amaris Tyynismawho finished third at the same championships starts at 9:20am CT over 6K.

The No. 25 Alabama men’s, led by Victor Kipropwho is undefeated this season, including victories at the Southeastern Conference NCAA South Regional Championships, will begin the 10K race at 10:10 a.m. CT.

Both races will be broadcast live and uninterrupted on ESPU and streamed via and the ESPN App. For live scores, visit

Alabama head coach Then water said

“We’ve had a truly amazing season that we’re really proud of, one in which men and women win SEC team titles in the same season for the first time in program history and both teams advance to the NCAA championships for the third time in the same season . There’s really no other choice but to go out on Saturday and drop everything. That’s the fun part.”

The Crimson Tide at Stillwater

  • The NCAA Women’s Touring Squad consists of Flomena Asekol, Mercy Chelangat, Elka Machan, Sam McDonnell, Hilda Olemomoi, Jamie Reed, Amaris Tyynisma and Lilly Walters
  • The traveling roster for the Alabama men at Stillwater includes Brady Barton, Hillary Cheruiyot, Brady Grant, Jacob Harris, Victor Kiprop, Eliud Kipsang, Will Pinson, Gavin Saacke and Jacob Wigger

Alabama at the NCAA Cross Country Championships

  • The UA Women are competing in this year’s NCAA Championships after winning their first Southeastern Conference title since 1987 and their first NCAA South Regional Championship since 1986
  • The Tide women placed their overall score of five in the top 20 en route to winning the 2022 SEC and NCAA South Regional titles
  • This year’s performance marks the first time in program history that the Tide women have secured a back-to-back NCAA championship berth
  • Mercy Chelangat became UA’s first NCAA cross-country singles champion in the 2020 season and finished runner-up last season
  • In addition to Chelangat, who has won back-to-back Cross Country All-America honors, the Crimson Tide has two other All-Americans — Amaris Tyynismaa and Flomena Asekol — pacing at this year’s national championships in Alabama
  • The Alabama women finished 15th in last season’s NCAA championships after finishing eighth in the 2020 season
  • The Crimson Tide men earned a free bid for this year’s championships after winning their first SEC team title since 2009 and finishing third at the NCAA South Regional Championships in Huntsville, Ala.
  • The Tide men finished their entire five points in the top 28 en route to winning the 2022 SEC title
  • The UA men are competing in back-to-back NCAA championships for the first time since 2009 and 2010
  • Victor Kiprop, who is undefeated this season, including crucial victories at the SEC and NCAA Southern regional championships, leads the Crimson Tide along with All-Americans Eliud Kipsang and Hillary Cheruiyot
  • The men finished 27th in Tallahassee, Fla. last season.

Last time in Stillwater

  • The last time the Crimson Tide raced at Stillwater was when the women finished eighth at the NCAA Championships, assisted by Mercy Chelangats and Amaris Tyynismaas Top 3 rankings
  • The 2020 NCAA Championships have been postponed to March 2021 due to the CoVID-19 pandemic
  • It was the second-best team finish in program history, after finishing sixth in 1987
  • Chelangat set the course record of 20:01.1, which made the last 1,000 meters over the infamous hilly course tricky
  • This is the first time the Alabama men will compete at the NCAA Championships in Stillwater

Alabama’s 2022 Postseason Honors

  • Victor Kipropthe 2021 SEC Freshman of the Year, was voted 2022 SEC Runner of the Year, while Hilda Olemomoi earned SEC Freshman of the Year awards and Then water became the first UA coach in program history to be named both men’s and women’s SEC Cross Country Coach of the Year
  • Kiprop is undefeated this season, including winning the SEC and NCAA South Regional titles
  • He is the second consecutive student-athlete from Alabama to be named SEC Men’s Runner of the Year Eliud Kipsang in 2021
  • Overall, Alabama has been named the men’s SEC Runner of the Year nine times, including five of the last eight
  • Olemomoi has finished third or better in every race this season, including third place in the SEC Championships and the NCAA South Regional Championships
  • She received a trio of SEC Freshman of the Week honors
  • The rookie is the third member of the UA women’s program to receive SEC Freshman of the Year honors for Cross Country, following Ashley LaBudde (1998) and Dawn Boggs (1999).
  • Waters led Alabama to its first women’s SEC title since 1987 and its first men’s since 2009
  • This year’s titles also mark the first time Alabama has won both the men’s and women’s championships in the same season
  • The Crimson Tide is the first program outside of Arkansas to win both the men’s and women’s titles in the same year since 1990
  • Alabama promoted both men and women to the NCAA championships that same season for the third year in program history and the second straight year
  • In Alabama, eight student-athletes were NCAA All-South Region honored in 2022, including five women and three men
  • All five members of Alabama who scored five points on the women’s side earned the regional honor, including Flomena Asekol, Mercy Chelangat, Elka MachanOlemomoi and Amaris Tyynisma
  • The male trio of regional award winners includes Hillary Cheruiyot, Jacob Harris and Kiprop
  • Half of the First Team All-SEC honors were collected by Alabama, including four women and three men
  • 2022 SEC singles champion Kiprop was picked up by Cheruiyot and on the men’s first team roster Eliud Kipsang
  • For women, Alabama seeded four on the First Team All-SEC list, including Chelangat, Olemomoi, Tyynismaa and Asekol.
  • Olemomoi and Will Pinson also received SEC All-Freshman awards

For the latest information on the team, follow AlabamaTrack on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook. For general esports news, follow @UA_Athletics on Twitter and Instagram and Alabama Athletics on Facebook.