2022 USL Academy All-Tournament Teams

The United Soccer League on Tuesday announced the All-Tournament Teams for the 2022 USL Academy League Finals, honoring the top performers from the final event of the league’s second full season in the Tampa Bay area last week. Image for illustration purposes
– Advertisement –

Texas Border Business

Tampa, Fla. – The United Soccer League on Tuesday announced the All-Tournament teams for the 2022 USL Academy League Finals, honoring the performers of last week’s closing event of the league’s second full campaign in the Tampa Bay area.

Tampa Bay United won four selections after winning the playoff division title, led by Nicholas Skubis, winner of the tournament’s Golden Ball, who scored a goal and one in the team’s 2-0 win over Queensboro FC in Sunday’s finals provided an assist and Golden Glove winner Nicolas Mejia scored three shutouts in four games. They were joined by left-back Tate Johnson, who had a stellar tournament following his USL championship debut as USL Academy last season, and centre-back Lucas Kamrath, who impressed throughout.

Queensboro FC won three selections, including centre-back Nicholas Wilson and right-back Moussa Diarra, both of whom stood out in QBFC’s back line during the event. Left winger Gabriel Enriquez was the third pick for the side.

New Mexico United’s Alex Waggoner, who won the Golden Boot with six goals in the tournament, was joined by teammate Miles Merritt, who played well in midfield.

In the Showcase Division, Wake FC, Rio Grande Valley FC and Orange County SC each won two All-Tournament Team nominations, with Wake FC goaltender Josef Sikiric and left-back Greene Rand honored after the team conceded just three goals in four games had over the week. Orange County SC’s attacking duo of Bryce Jamison and Nico Ruiz were also honored, as were the Toros’ Duilio Herrera and Dylan Hernandez after both impressed in the final third.

Throughout the 2022 USL Academy League Finals, all coaches and technical staff from all participating clubs were heavily involved in the talent scouting process. After each of their four games, technical staff were asked to fill out USL’s Player Talent ID form to assist in recognizing the top performers from the Playoff and Showcase brackets. In connection with the submitted Talent ID forms, the USL Sporting Dept. then combined to create the All-Tournament teams shown here.

USL Academy League Finals All-Tournament Team – Playoff Division
TW – Nicolas Mejia, Tampa Bay United
RB – Moussa Diarra, Queensboro FC
CB – Lucas Kamrath, Tampa Bay United
CB – Nicholas Wilson, Queensboro FC
LB – Tate Johnson, Tampa Bay United
CM – Miles Merritt, New Mexico United
ZM-Nicholas Skubis, Tampa Bay United
RW – Denis Paz, Indy Eleven
AM – Nicolas Rincon, North Carolina FC
LW – Gabriel Enriquez, Queensboro FC
ST – Alex Wagoner, New Mexico United

Award: GK Nicholas Holliday (North Carolina FC), CB Michael Melilli (Tampa Bay United), CM John McDowell (North Carolina FC), RW Ivan Moore (New Mexico United), ST Daniel Lugo (Tampa Bay United)

USL Academy League Finals All-Tournament Team – Showcase Division
GK – Josef Sikiric, Wake FC
RB – Jesus Vasquez, Charlotte Eagles
CB – Sebastian Sanchez, Louisville City FC
CB—Sawyer Gribble, Lexington SC
LB – Greene Rand, Wake FC
CM – Osvaldo Escalona, ​​Park City Red Wolves SC
CM – Aidan Morrison, Charlotte Independence
RW—Bryce Jamison, Orange County SC
AM – Dylan Hernandez, Rio Grande Valley FC
LW – Duilio Herrera, Rio Grande Valley FC

ST – Nico Ruiz, Orange County SC

Award: GK Owen Brakstad (Charlotte Independence), CB Cameron Pfahl (Peachtree City MOBA), AM Renzo Andreucetti (South Georgia Tormenta FC), RW Blake Oberholzer (Park City Red Wolves SC), ST Cole Burke (Wake FC)

– Advertisement –