Wrestling prepares for the PRTC Keystone Classic Sunday at The Palestra

PHILADELPHIA – The University of Pennsylvania wrestling team returns to The Palestra on Sunday as the Red and Blue attempt to defend their titles from a year ago. Penn Wrestling will be attending the 27th Annual Keystone Classic. This year’s event is hosted by the Pennsylvania Regional Training Center (PRTC).

Penn’s #15 at The Palestra on Sunday will be joined by other nationally ranked rosters at #5 Arizona State and #16 Virginia Tech. Appalachian State, Drexel, Franklin & Marshall, George Mason, Harvard, Rider are returning for the second straight year and Sacred Heart back. Duke is performing at The Palestra for the first time since 2019. These 11 teams will bring 26 nationally ranked grapplers to the PRTC Keystone Classic this weekend.

PRTC Keystone Classic
Sunday 20 November | 9:30 am
Tickets | Flo Wrestling ($)

The Quakers will look to improve on their performances at last weekend’s Journeymen Collegiate Classic to open the 2022-23 season. Penn will get his first opportunity to showcase his talents in his hometown.

  • Eight Quakers gained national recognition earlier this week. Miller (125), Colaiocco (133), Artalona (149), Zapf (157), Revano (165), Incontrera (174), Urbas (197) and Goldin (285) all achieved national rankings.
  • Including the eight Penn grapplers, a total of 26 nationally ranked wrestlers will take to the mat at The Palestra on Sunday.
  • For the second season in a row Roger Reina named Carmen Ferrante, Doug Zapfand Ben Goldin as captains for the #TheMovement.
  • In 2021, the Quakers clinched the teams title by a 40.5 point margin over second-placed Appalachian State. Colaiocco, Ferrante, Urbas and Goldin all won their respective weight classes. Goldin has earned the Most Falls title in a very short time. Urbas was named Most Outstanding Wrestler for the meeting.

session schedule
9:30 am Championship 1st round & 2nd round
11:30 a.m. Consolation 1st round 2nd round
1:30 p.m. Championship Quarterfinals
14:30 Championship Semifinals & Consolation 3rd Round
4:00 p.m. Consolation 4th round
4:30 p.m. Consolation semifinals & games for 7th place
6:30pm Championship 3rd & 5th & Awards Ceremony

PLANNED PLACEMENT – (#) – indicates the seed number
125 – No. 15 Ryan Mueller (1), Brady Pruett, Sean Seefeldt

133 – No. 10 Michael Colaiocco (1), Evan Mougalian

141 – Carmen Ferrante (3), Kyle Hauserman, Jackson polo

149-#9 Doug Zapf (2), Vincent Mannella

157 – No. 12 Anton Artalona (1), Louis Colaiocco, Cam Connor, Hunter Gandy, Cole Spencer

165 – No. 19 Lucas Revano (1), Gab Miller, Jeremy Ridge

174 – No. 16 Nick Incontrera (1), Michael Kistler, Jake Stefanowicz, Malachi Wiley

184 – John Stark (7), Max Hall (8)

197 – #27 Cole Urbas (3)Jesse Martinez
285 – No. 15 Ben Goldin (2), Matthew cruise, Nate Hoaglund, Zakaria Loudini

#The movement